My Love of “Updating”

It has been less than a week since I created this blog, and I am already eternally grateful for the ability to edit and update my blog posts here on WordPress.

I believe that all of my creations are never perfect, and also never truly complete. In high school and even to this day, I dread submitting assignments, whether it is online or in-person. Of course, I try my best at most everything I do, but it is painful for me to non-verbally say “Here is my perfect assignment; it is the best it can possibly be” to my teachers. Nearly every single time I submit an essay or project, I immediately start to question myself. “Should I really have included that anecdote? Was that particular sentence a run-on? What if I totally misinterpreted the point of the assignment?” These are the kinds of thoughts that run through my mind until I finally receive feedback on them, for better or for worse. On one hand, it is quite overwhelming to constantly be second-guessing myself. On the contrary, though, at least it shows that I am not overconfident in my amateur abilities, and that I am aware that there is always room for improvement. Either way, after turning an assignment in, I end up attempting to convince myself that there is nothing I can do about it at that point.

This habit for second-guessing myself and constantly looking for improvement leads to my love for my ability to edit and then update my posts on this blog. It gives me so much comfort to know that I can change what I have written at any point. For example, I have only posted one post on this blog before posting this one, and I have definitely utilized my ability to edit and update my post already. For example, I had used the word “blog” in my previous post an extreme amount of times, and did not even notice this repetition until I read it a day later. It would have been quite annoying for me to have to live with that shame, especially since I am certain that the same type of mistake led me to receiving a lower writing score on the ACT. Let us just say that now I make sure I am aware of synonyms for words such as “sports.”

In fact, the only negative thought I can come up with regarding the ability to edit and update my blog posts as I move along is that it may refrain readers of this blog (and myself) from seeing my writing skills grow through time, but I think my scholastic essays prove this growth enough already.

Once again, thank you, WordPress. I am excited to re-read this post in the future and make a plethora of edits to it.

-Stephanie

 

One thought on “My Love of “Updating”

Leave a Reply

