Monthly Monday Music Melange #1

Hello everyone! I have decided to start a new series on this blog entitled “Monthly Monday Music Melange,” which I think will aptly portray my love of both alliteration and music. Although I always love listening to music, I have been listening to it like crazy lately, and have been wanting to share some of my favorites with others. As a result, I hope to let you all know of my recent favorite songs and musicians on a monthly basis (and on a Monday, of course). As a disclaimer, I must state that the listed songs likely will not all be new, as I am a slowpoke and am quite nostalgic. Anyway, as this is my first post in this series, and the last time I posted about music was this past December, I am going to include music that I have loved throughout both January and February of this year. Enjoy!


“Your Best American Girl” by Mitski

I must start off this list with a song that I fell in love with at the start of the year. I first heard this song on All Songs Considered by NPR Music, and I could not stop listening to it (once I arrived at a location with Wi-Fi). It is definitely worthy of its spot on lists of the best songs of 2016.

“Such Things” by Saintseneca

I have been listening to Saintseneca since this past October, and have really come to enjoy the band’s discography as of late. This particular song is one that I have greatly enjoyed, and it is not only the album’s opener, but was also my opening song for this semester of college; those who know of my association of music with school will understand the significance of this choice.

“Isombard” by Declan McKenna

I started listening to Declan McKenna when his Tiny Desk Concert was released this past January, and I immediately was enthralled by him and his music. To see someone my age be so successful and talented is quite inspiring, so I have really embraced the music he has released, particularly his song “Isombard.”

“Sprained Ankle” by Julien Baker

Okay, everyone, it is time to cool down. Just like with Declan McKenna, I started listening to Julien Baker because of her amazing Tiny Desk Concert performance. I found myself listening to her enchantingly somber music throughout much of January, and I still come back to her songs when I want to feel grounded.

“Cost of the Cold” by Joan Shelley

As I have mentioned in previous posts, Joan Shelley’s music basically keeps me sane. Around the same time I started listening to Julien Baker, I listened to much of Joan Shelley’s fantastic music as well; her music has the power to calm me down under essentially any circumstance.

“Nuestra Canción (feat Vicente García)” by Monsieur Periné

I must give NPR thanks again, this time for my discovery of Monsieur Periné. I fell in love with this group and their live performances this past month, and really could not stop listening to their music, which I find to have so much fulfilling energy.

“The Drum” by Car Seat Headrest

If anyone has not figured out the trend yet, I find a lot of the music I listen to from NPR, and this song is not an exception. After seeing so much acclaim for Car Seat Headrest, I finally listened to some songs, and I particularly enjoyed this one entitled “The Drum.” I would highly recommend giving Car Seat Headrest a listen!

“You and I” by Margaret Glaspy

Margaret Glaspy has become one of my favorite singer-songwriters recently, and I have found myself listening to her entire album entitled Emotions and Math quite often. Although there were many great songs to choose from for this list, I have been enjoying this specific song and music video so much lately that I had to include it.

“Don’t Save Me” by HAIM

I finally started listening to HAIM recently (I know…I am late by a few years), and I have really become a fan of these three sisters and their music. They are so inspiring to me, and I especially love this song of theirs.

“Come On! Feel the Illinoise!” by Sufjan Stevens

This incredible song is definitely not new, and it is not even new to me, but I truly have rekindled my love of Sufjan Stevens over the past month. I still feel as though the album Illinois should be required listening for every Illinois resident, as it is such an incredible album, and probably my favorite of all time. Anyway, this song specifically is one that I listen to every time I visit Chicago, and I finally took the time to look up the lyrics recently and found that they are so fantastic and better than the ones I thought they were (I have a hard time deciphering lyrics sometimes).

“I Didn’t Just Come Here to Dance” by Carly Rae Jepsen

Queen Carly: two words that summarize the feelings that many people, including myself, have towards Carly Rae Jepsen. Just as with Sufjan Stevens, I have been starting to listen to Jepsen’s music a lot lately, although I have known of her for quite some time. The song “I Didn’t Just Come Here to Dance” is such a fun song that I have embraced and appreciated so much over the past couple of weeks.

“Unstoppable” by Lianne La Havas

I have gone through an odd phase recently in which I have listened to music that I enjoyed last semester in a somewhat nostalgic way. The song “Unstoppable” by the wonderful Lianne La Havas has been a part of that trend; it is such a calming and inspiring listen.

“P.O.W.A” by M.I.A.

I first heard this song as I watched its music video, which was recommended for me on YouTube. Not only is the music video enthralling, but the song itself is also amazing and has some clever lyrics. Plus, any song that samples “Blue Moon” by The Marcels is one that I automatically love.

“Make Me a Boat” by The Family Crest

Has anyone noticed that it has been a while since I last mentioned NPR? If so, well, here is its return. One day, not too long ago, I decided to let The Family Crest’s Tiny Desk Concert performance automatically play after I had watched a different one, and I was soon in awe of this group’s music. I recently have been impressed by this song especially, as I find it to be breathtaking. Of course, I checked out the GoPro video that they mentioned in their Tiny Desk Concert and included it in this list.

“Venus Fly (feat. Janelle Monáe)” by Grimes

I first became obsessed with this song approximately a year ago, and after I saw that a music video had recently been released, I gained a new appreciation of this bold and empowering song. Also, let us all take a moment to appreciate Janelle Monáe’s appearance in this song, as she really is incredible.

“One Foot” by fun.

Yes, my friends, I am taking us back to 2012. I was recently shocked when I found out that fun.’s album entitled Some Nights had turned five years old, and subsequently, I finally came back to the album after much time. What I found is that many of the songs still hold up today, and that “One Foot” remains a fantastically bombastic song. The recording does not surpass hearing the song played live, but it is still one that is giving me energy and motivation to this day.

“Hold Me Close” by Overcoats

I can thank NPR Music once again, this time for my discovery of “Hold Me Close” by Overcoats (on a side note: I love the name of their group). I was listening to the All Songs 24/7 Radio on the NPR Music website a few days ago, and once I heard the chorus of this song, I immediately opened a new tab on my browser with a reminder to download it. I absolutely love the production of this song, and I find it to be a calming, yet invigorating, listen.


I hope you all enjoyed this melange, and maybe even found some new music to enjoy. Let me know if you have any thoughts on this series, or if you have any music recommendations that I could listen to for the next month!

-Stephanie

One thought on “Monthly Monday Music Melange #1

Leave a Reply

