Stephanie’s Stories: Walk in My “Wourld”

Hello everyone! About a month ago, I suddenly remembered that I used to write and illustrate “books” as a young child. Moments later, I became determined to find those stories of mine, so, of course, I looked for my books the next day and was lucky enough to find them within a few minutes of searching.

Let me remind you all that I wrote these books as a very young child. Consequently, what I created was pretty terrible, and looking through them made me realize that I definitely was not a child prodigy.

But, being who I am, I immediately knew that I would love to overanalyze my stories, try to find deeper meanings in them, and act as though I was born to be an author. Therefore, I hope this will be the start of a series in which I (sarcastically) analyze the “books” I created as a child.

Without further ado, it is time to enjoy the first story from my book collection: Walk in My Wourld, written and illustrated by yours truly, Stephanie.


FullSizeRender 21

Here it is: the cover of my story. One might wonder why I felt compelled to include the letter “u” in the word “world.” Well, I clearly must have been trying to convey that although I am writing about my world, you, the reader, are in my world as well; you are nearly the center of it, in fact!

And yes, my amazing penmanship (and control of potential water spills) at the bottom of the cover is also included in my “About” page on this blog, as I think it aptly represents who I am as a human being.

Of course, I must discuss the amazing binding of my book. As shown in the picture above, I used a three-hole-puncher, and then stapled the pages together. Duality.

FullSizeRender 13

Translation: “I like walking in my world very, very, very much.”

Let us all take a moment to appreciate the amount of effort I put into writing out my story; I wrote it in three colors on this page. As I am demonstrating through this messiness, the world of mine is always changing and being developed and improved upon. Emphasis is clearly quite important to me.

My illustration is just an amazing representation of myself; that is all I can say about it.

FullSizeRender 11

“I am happy walking in my world.”

As one can see, I am really showing that I am happy no matter what I, or others, look like in my world.

FullSizeRender 10

“I love walking in my world very much.”

Such character development has been created. The first page stated that I “like” walking in my world very, very, very much, but I have finally committed by stating that I “love” walking in my world very much.

Since blue as a color can represent knowledge, power, and righteousness, I was obviously trying to show that I have become entirely honest in my awareness of the importance of my world through the blue illustration.

FullSizeRender 19

“I love my friends in my world.”

Now that I have established that I truly love my world, it is time to acknowledge my friends. In order to love others, one must first love their own world, right?

This illustration is completely orange, as I was trying to portray the joy and warmth that radiates from the friends my world is comprised of.

FullSizeRender 15

“I love my mom and dad in my world.”

Let us take a moment to appreciate the fact that I knew that since I was using “mom” and “dad” as common nouns, I did not need to capitalize them.

Okay, now that the moment as passed, let us think about the actual content of this page. It may be controversial that I mentioned my parents after my friends in this story, but I really just wanted to make a statement, because that is what elementary students writing “books” do. I did make sure to use the color yellow, though, which conveys the clarity and loyalty associated with parents.

FullSizeRender 18

“It is great in my world.” 

After mentioning different people in my world, I made sure to ground the readers once again with the fact that my world is simply great.

FullSizeRender 9

“It is cool in my world.”

I had not yet incorporated the color green yet into my story, so I used this page as a way to portray the serenity and “coolness” of my world. With so many grand statements already included, this moment of peace was needed and obviously a smart choice.

It can also be debated that I wanted to show that my world is cool in that global warming has been avoided in my world, as I did make sure to use the color green, which is associated with the environment.

Double entendres were obviously in my vocabulary even as a child.

FullSizeRender 12

“My world is cool.”

Now, I am not exactly sure what I was trying to write on this page, but I am assuming the that I was trying to play on my previous statement. Not only is it cool in my world, but as I am demonstrating on this page, my world is generally cool.

This was also the first page to include the color black; asserting that my world is entirely cool prompted my use of the sophisticated and elegant color.

FullSizeRender 16

“My friends say this world is cool.”

Testimonials are now coming into play in this book. Of course, even at my young age, I was aware of testimonials as a persuasion tactic and use of rhetoric; by including that my fiends also think that this world is cool, I ensured that all readers would know that the world is, in fact, cool.

My use of the color red, which was a first for me in this story, really signifies the passion with which my friends make this assertion.

FullSizeRender 17

“My mom says this world is cool.”

Here I am, doubling down on the testimonials; not only do my friends say this world is cool, but even my mom says this world has the same characteristic. I am unsure if the yellow scribbles toward the top of the page are a result of a mistake I made or my attempt at drawing a sun, but either way, clarity is being portrayed in the form of confusion by my extensive use of the color.

By the way, I definitely used the color purple because it is my mother’s favorite color. Aww.

FullSizeRender 20

“My brother says ‘I hate this world.'”

Here it is, my friends: the plot twist. Someone does not like my world? What a travesty; how could a family member say something so harsh? The color black demonstrates the evil associated with this statement, of course, which the facial expression in the illustration signifies as well.

FullSizeRender 14

“Another person said ‘This world is cool.'”

Are you not all impressed that I wrapped up the conflict in just one more page?

The green person, who clearly is a very healing and harmonious person, made sure to reassure my brother that the world is cool. The fearful expression is gone from their face; they now know the true quality of the world.

Overall, through this story, I clearly wanted to show that my world is nothing without its inhabitants, which is demonstrated by the fact that people were on every page of the story. Through the interaction at the end, though, it becomes apparent that through discussions with other inhabitants, our world can be the best and most satisfying it can possibly be. I hope everyone keeps in mind what was stated multiple times, which is that this world is truly cool (in the sense that it can be composed, and not that it is necessarily lacking warmth, because seriously, global warming is real).

IMG_1387

Here is the back of my “book,” which shows the names of some of the other books I had already created.

Speaking of my other stories, please let me know if you want me to continue this series! I had a lot of fun writing this post, so let me know if you had fun reading it as well. Also, if any of you can figure out how old I must have been when I wrote this book, please bring my probable age to my awareness, as I am curious to know of it.

-Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Stephanie’s Stories: Walk in My “Wourld”

Leave a Reply

